Stuffed Bell peppers

For those living in Arizona I HIGHLY recommend you look up Market on the Move. It is an amazing market where you can get 60 lbs of fresh seasonal produce for $10!!! When I lived in Arizona I used to go as often as possible and one thing I always got were bell peppers, and stuffed bell peppers are one of my favorite meals.

So there are a few different ways you can make them- just depends on your preference.

Ingredients:

Bell peppers (if you don’t get the ones that stand you can just cut them in half- like pictured), tomato paste (I use canned tomatoes and then blend them- but you can use any kind of tomato sauce including spaghetti sauce), Rice, ground meat (in this recipe I use turkey, but I also use ground beef often), onions, cheese

When I made this recipe today I cooked the meat and rice because I am a bit paranoid about the meat not getting cooked through. However in the paste I have made it without cooking the meat and rice I just had to add more sauce to make sure it didn’t burn. I have to say that by letting it cook in the sauce while in the oven does taste better, but you need to do what you feel comfortable with.

When cooking the meat and onions, in order to not use oil I cooked them in the tomato sauce:

IMG_0019

I then combine the meat and rice in a bowl.

IMG_0021

This can also be done a few different ways. I highly recommend having some sort of sauce at the bottom of the pan (to cook the bell peppers). In this case I filled the bell peppers and then added the rest of the mixture (and a lil red wine since I ran out of sauce) to the area around the bell peppers

IMG_0022

Finally I toped it all with cheese.

IMG_0028

I covered it with aluminum foil, put it in the oven at 400 f for 30 minutes and then took the foil off and kept it in for another 10 minutes (so the cheese could get crispy). If you didn’t cook the meat before you need to leave it in longer (I would say min 40 minutes).

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

