Pineapple chicken

So on Sunday we had very few ingredients at home, and living in Austria means that nothing is open.

Thankfully though we had enough to make this super simple, but filling, dish. IMG_0017

Ingredients:

Chicken, pineapple, soy sauce (can also use teriyaki sauce), rice

When I make this I try and get as much flavor in the dish as possible and use as little oil as possible. So when I make the rice I use 1 cup rice, 1 cup water, and 1 cup of pineapple juice (normally I use canned pineapple so this is a really good way not to waste the juice from the can).

Then to make the chicken I add a little soy sauce instead of oil. Once the chicken is white (but not all the way cooked through) I add the pineapple juice and remaining juice (pictured below). IMG_0016

I let this mixture cook until chicken is cooked through and the pineapple is a lil brown.

Place the chicken & pineapple mixture on top of the rice and add Sriracha sauce if you’d like. IMG_0018

I like mine in a bowl but Michael prefers the deep plate (pictured at the top of the post).

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

